Jalapeno Chicken Salad

I LOVE spicy!!! Like seriously my whole life I have loved spicy food!! My brother and I used to actually have a contest of how many jalapeños we can eat on one nacho. If I see anything jalapeño flavored I typically buy it! I came across this Jalapeño Salt seasoning at HEB the other day and I have no idea how I lived without it before.

IMG_3955.JPG

My husband and I (really just me) are really trying to eat better this year! After I had our second child I have had a harder time losing the baby weight and he’s 18 months now. I have been making a lot of salads this past week and honestly I don’t know why I rarely did before since they are super easy!! Tonight, I figured I’d take some pictures and share because we both LOVE this dish! I am sure it’s not SUPER healthy, but I do know it’s WAY more healthy than what I typically make, so in our eyes its a “WIN-WIN”. I totally improvise when I cook, so feel free to add or remove things to fit into you and your family taste preference!!

What you need for the Salad-

  • Bag of your favorite salad
  • Chicken tenders
  • Tomatoes (if you please)
  • Cilantro
  • 1 fresh ear of corn
  • Jalapeno Salt
  • Pam
  • Crumbled Goat cheese (I KNOW this is NOT low in fat)
  • Avocado (I forgot to pick this up, but I thing it’s a must!)

IMG_3949.JPG

IMG_3944.JPG

IMG_3947.JPG

IMG_3948.JPG

IMG_3952.JPG

Directions

  1. Heat skillet to medium temp. and spray Cast Iron skillet.
  2. Sprinkle chicken with Jalapeño salt, and then grill your chicken for about 10-15mins depending on thickness.
  3. While chicken is cooking, chop cilantro, cut corn off the cob, and chop the tomatoes.
  4. Once chicken is full cooked, let rest.
  5. Reduce heat to a low-medium temp and spray pan again. Add corn to skillet and cook till lightly charred. YUMMY!!!
  6. Cut chicken into bite size pieces.

Toss all ingredients!

Spicy Ranch dressing (a healthy version)

  • 1/2 cup fat free plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup low fat milk
  • garlic powder to taste
  • cracked black pepper to taste
  • salt to taste
  • Jalapeno salt to taste

Whisk all together! Drizzle on top of salad and ENJOY!!

Let me know what you think!! If there should be better instructions or more pictures, I would love some feed back if you tried this at home. 🙂

Have a blessed week!

 

Leave a Reply

